On Site Convenience – On Site Printing :: 9.8.12 @ The National Shooting Complex, San Antonio, TX

Printing on site with my Sony Snaplab for CTRC Cancer Research fund raiser

I had an early call this morning from a friend working the event photography for the 18th annual Vulcan Materials Funshoot, a competition to benefit the Cancer Therapy & Research Center at the UT Health Science Center San Antonio at the National Shooting Complex. The event organizers were trying to print photos onsite with a photo quality color laser printer supplied by a vendor but it was not suited well at all for printing souvenir photos on site.  They asked if I would mind donating time, services and prints… by the way can I get there as soon as possible.

I usually like to prep and run the gear well before the event but no time for this one.  I was lucky I just received a shipment of supplies for it and so I loaded up my Macbook Pro laptop, supplies and my Sony SnapLab and headed to the location.

Sony SnapLab Dye Sub self laminating printer

Supplies – 4×6 print ribbons and paper rolls.

When I arrived we loaded images from several cameras and started some test printing. We were able to get one of our contacts to e-mail the logos for the event and put them into Adobe Photoshop to arrange them to fit centered across the bottom of the print. I converted the footer to a transparent PNG file type and added a white glow for contrast. I then added it to LightRoom as a watermark graphic and positioned it appropriately centered at the bottom of the print. This worked out perfectly and the event organizers as well as the participants were pleased and duly impressed with the speed and efficiency of the SnapLab.  We printed souvenier photos for each team member.

Leave a Reply

